A letter to my body

Poetry time

D.T.
1 min readMay 16, 2022
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

A letter to my body

Dear Body,

I put you under a lot of stress lately.
I forgot to say thank you.

I gave you things you didn’t want with force.
I forgot to say sorry.

I put you in situations where you didn’t feel safe.
I forgot to check in with you.

Time and again, I rue all those moments
where I pushed you past your limits
with no love, care and affection in sight.

You haven’t deserved
so many things you’ve endured.
I just wish I’d realised sooner
what has really been going on.

I’m going to start treating you better.
I acknowledge the times I’ve abused you
and I promise no more.
We can make up for lost time.
It’s not too late.

You may not look the way I’d hoped before
but you are mine and mine alone.
I need to start loving you more for what you are
instead of hating you for what you lack.

For more of my poetry, click here

--

--

D.T.

Trainee psychotherapist | Musician | Writer | Poet Support me and my writing here: https://ko-fi.com/dtwriter